Governance & Management


Board of Directors

Sydney Institute of Health Sciences trading as Sydney Traditional Chinese Medicine (SITCM) is governed by a Board of Directors which oversees the control and management of the operations of SITCM. The Board of Directors ensures that SITCM fulfils its responsibilities as detailed in its Mission,  Vision and Values and continues to meet its obligations and responsibilities as a higher education provider.

The Board of Directors comprises the following members:

  • Chair: Professor Emeritus Basil Roufogalis
  • Professor Emeritus Alan Bensoussan
  • Mr Tony Guarna
  • Mr Michael Carter
  • Ms Shirley Li

Academic Board

The Academic Board is the governance body that oversees the academic and educational direction and operations of SITCM. The Academic Board ensures excellence in teaching and learning through academic quality assurance, free intellectual enquiry and integrity, and scholarship and professional development. The Academic Board determines academic policies and procedures and appoints standing committees to assist in the efficient operation of academic matters.

The Academic Board comprises the following members:

  • Professor Emeritus Alan Bensoussan (Chair)
  • Professor Chun Guang Li
  • Dr Sean Walsh
  • Ms Maria Deligiannis
  • Ms Jian Jiang
  • Dr Yan Li
  • Mr Raymond Huang

Two standing committees inform the Academic Board. They are the:

Course Advisory Committee

  • Chair: Dr Yan Li
  • Professor Dennis Chang
  • Professor Juanita Sherwood
  • Associate Professor Jane Messer
  • Dr Sean Walsh
  • Ms Jian Jiang

Teaching and Learning Committee

  • Chair: Ms Jian Jiang
  • Dr Sean Walsh
  • Dr Yan Li
  • Dr Tony Zhang
  • Mr Damien Mathews
  • Ms Priscilla Guo
  • Mr Mathew Goss
  • Ms Eleanor Venables
  • Ms Karen Soo
  • Mr Calvin Lam


Executive Management Group

The Executive Management Group is appointed by the Board of Directors to exercise an executive decision-making and coordination role in relation to the Institute’s business. The Executive Management Group implements policies, procedures and plans to enable the efficient management, coordination and quality assurance of the Institute’s business.

The Executive Management Group convenes a Workplace Health and Safety Committee and a Sexual Assault and Sexual Harassment Taskforce to provide advice, guidance and monitoring in relation to safety issues.

The Executive Management Group comprises the following members:

  • Chair and CEO: Mr Damien Mathews
  • Dean: Ms Jian Jiang
  • COO: Mr Damien Mathews
  • Office Manager: Ms Chelsea Chen
  • Accounting Officer: Ms Cynthia Chen
  • Academic Support Officer: Ms Eleanor Venables
  • IT Manager: Mr Edward Ye
  • Registrar: Ms Karen Soo
  • Head of VET: Mr Nick Li
  • Course Coordinator: Dr Yan Li
  • Clinic Manager: Ms Rosa Zhang
  • Librarian: Dr Tony Zhang

Workplace Health and Safety Committee

  • Chair: Mr Damien Mathews
  • Mr Yifan Yang
  • Ms Chelsea Chen
  • Ms Rosa Zhang
  • Dr Yan Li

Sexual Assault and Sexual Harassment Taskforce

  • Chair: Ms Karen Soo
  • Ms Priscilla Guo
  • Mr Winson Zhou
  • Mr Damien Mathews
  • Dr Nicolle Leary
  • Ms Youmi Park

Organisational Structure

View the SITCM Organisational Structure